auto insurance norwell MA gordon atlantic insurance homeowners insurance norwell MA gordon atlantic life insurance norwell MA gordon atlantic boat insurance norwell ma gordon atlantic business insurance norwell ma gordon atlantic
             Auto Insurance          Home Insurance           Life Insurance           Boat Insurance      Business Insurance

    Personal Insurance Blog

    Junior Operators: How to Get Your Permit

    Posted by Gordon Atlantic Staff

    Thu, Jul 24, 2014 @ 10:49 AM

    Pass your permit test with auto insurance tips from andrew g gordon incIn Massachusetts, you can get your driving permit the day you turn 16. To get one's permit, a parent/guardian must take the soon-to-be driver to the RMV. You should fill out these permit test forms before you go to the RMV to make your visit quick and easy. After the forms are submitted and you are called for your turn, your permit picture is taken, there is a quick eye test, and some basic information is collected. Then you are sent to wait in line for the permit exam.

    The test is composed of 25 questions about general driving safety rules. You have 25 minutes to complete the test, which is administered electronically. You can take the driver's ed classroom component when you're 15 and 9 months old, 3 months before you're eligible for your permit on your 16th birthday. However, you are not required to take driver's ed before applying for your permit (I myself got my permit first).

    My biggest advice for passing the permit test is to actually read the driving manual and take lots of online practice tests. While reading the driving manual (which you can find online for free), I took screenshots of pages with important information. The permit test really does focus on small details and penalties for driving infractions. If there's a page in the driving manual with a chart on it, you should probably know that information.

    Here's a practice question; how far from the driver's home do most car accidents occur?

    a) 15 miles. b) 25 miles. c) 35 miles. d) 50 miles

    The answer? 25 miles! See, the information can be very specific, and while a 35 mile radius includes the 25 mile radius, you should take the questions very literally and choose the most correct answers. 

    Some great practice test websites are practicepermittest.com, driving-tests.org, and freedmvpracticetests.com. Take a LOT of these. A lot of the questions that will be on your real permit test will be on practice exams!

    Finally, relax. If you prepare and practice, you will pass. If you don't pass, it's not the end of the world; just go back to the RMV and take it again once you're better prepared. But keep in mind that each permit exam costs $30 to take (whether you pass or not), so do your best to pass it on your first try!

    Read another blog on the whole license-obtaining process, or check out our resources for new drivers and their parents. Feel free to contact us with any questions or a quote request!

    Contact Us  Teen Driver Kit

    Tags: auto, insurance, junior, permit, how to get permit, how to get license, massachusetts, driving, car, license, driver, teen, operators

    Junior Operators: How Do You Get Your License?

    Posted by Gordon Atlantic Staff

    Mon, Jul 21, 2014 @ 11:01 AM

    If you're turning 16 or have a child who is, it's almost time to start driving. There are more steps to getting a junior operator's license in Massachusetts than you might think. For families who have their first child coming of the driving age or who need a refresher on what it takes to get that license, look no further.

    Prepare for your teen driving with a drivers ed course and auto insurance from andrew g gordon inc1. First, the teen must attend a driver's education course. These can be completed any time of the year. During the summer and school vacations (Winter, February, and April breaks), driving schools offer the whole course in a week; the student attends three classes (6 hours) a day for five days, like a school week. Throughout the entire year, classes are offered on Saturdays. There are 15 numbered different classes the student must attend, and you can call the driving school to see which ones are scheduled for which Saturdays. If possible, I definitely recommend completing the course in a week.

    Even if you're under the age of 18 and technically don't need to complete driver's ed to be eligible for your license, taking the course could lower your auto insurance rates.

    2. A parent has to attend a driver's ed course too! At least one parent/guardian must take a two hour class before the teen(s) can start driving hours. A parent class is good for 5 years in Massachusetts; for example, my parent attended a driving class for my sister getting her license 3 years ago. Since my parent had taken a class within the past 5 years, my mother didn't have to attend another one for me.

    3. Get your permit! You're eligible to get your permit the day you turn 16. I recommend getting it as soon as possible, because you must have had your permit for at least 6 months before you can take a road test. You must pass a permit test at the RMV, which contains material from the Massachusetts driver's manual. Come back next week for a blog about getting your permit.

    4. Driving hours! A student must spend 12 hours driving with an instructor from a driving school and 6 hours observing other student drivers. Every driving school schedules these differently, but for example, I had to schedule 12 sessions. I spent an hour driving every session and half an hour observing. It is easy to schedule these sessions online, or you can with a phone call.

    Prepare your new teen driver for driving with auto insurance from andrew g gordon inc5. This and step four go together; you must spend at least 40 hours driving with parent supervision and instruction. You should drive with your parent before your driving hours, so that driving school instructors can spend your sessions teaching you how to drive on the road instead of things like how to start your car. 

    6. Schedule your road test once you've completed the steps above and feel ready! You can do this online or by phone. Practice in the days leading up to your road test, especially on things you have trouble with. Come back soon for a blog about passing your road test. 

    Once you've completed these steps, congratulations! You can be a junior operator! Keep in mind, since you have to have had your permit for 6 months to get your license, you really must be 16 and 1/2 in Massachusetts. Additionally, a student driver cannot operate a vehicle without an adult in the car. Once a junior operator does have his/her license, he can't drive any friends under age 18 until he's been licensed for 6 months (this excludes family members). 

    Some popular local driving schools are North River (NR) Driving School in Pembroke, or AAA

    Ready your teen for the road with this new driving kit, and learn about auto insurance and possible discounts on our website. Contact a driving school or the RMV website for further information. 

    Teen Driver Kit Contact Us

    Tags: drivers, insurance, junior, operator, permit, steps, ed, course, how to get your license, massachusetts, driving, car, license, teen

    Drivers Education Parent Class- Are You a Good "Road" Model?

    Posted by Gordon Atlantic Staff

    Tue, Jan 22, 2013 @ 07:13 AM

    Parents be a good road role model for your new teen driver with auto from andrew gordon incIf you are a parent of a teen of driving age, you may be surprised to learn that you will be back in the classroom. The Massachusetts Junior Operator Drivers Education law requires a parent or guardian to attend a two hour course as part of the Junior Operator driver education requirements.  I had the pleasure of attending a parent session last weekend at the AAA Old Colony Driving School in Rockland. The class reviews the Junior Operator’s laws and the parent’s role in supporting safe driving. It also reviews the driving skills their child must master to pass a road test.

    Most importantly, the class identified driving behaviors that may negatively influence a new driver. Parents took a self-evaluation form to assess their own driving habits.

    Ask Yourself

    Check if you get a passing grade for being a “good road model “ when you ask yourself the following questions?

    • Do you talk on the cell phone while driving?                                 
    • Do you read or answer text messages while driving?
    • Do you allow yourself to be distracted while driving?
    • Do you always use directional signals when turning?
    • Do you always obey traffic signals and signs?
    • Do you drive over the speed limit?
    • Do you drive aggressively?
    • Do you get upset at other drivers while driving?
    • Do you always wear your seatbelt?
    • Do you make sure your passengers are wearing a seatbelt?
    • Do you drive after drinking alcohol?
    • Do you enforce rules and expectations with your teen driver?
    • Do you explain safe driving strategies with your teen?
    • If your teen is driving, do you offer feedback to help improve their skills?
    • Do you discuss the financial aspects of driving with your teen?
    • Do you discuss car maintenance with your teen?
    • Did you discuss what to do after an accident before you teen is licensed?

    Hopefully, you answers prove you are a “good road model”  for your soon-to-be-licensed teen. If not, there’s still time to set a good example for your new driver!

    If you have another other questions about teens and the road, check out our New Driver Resources page. Don't forget to download our contract between teen drivers and their parents! And if you're considering purchasing a new car for your teen, feel free to get a free quote from us by clicking the button below. We'll find the best deal for you and your insurance needs. Stay safe! Learn more about auto insurance here.

      Driving with Insurance in Mind eBook

     

    Tags: drivers, safety, new, junior, model, parents, role, driving, safe, road, teen, teenagers, operators

    New Driver – Parent Contract

    Posted by Gordon Atlantic Staff

    Wed, Nov 07, 2012 @ 10:00 AM

    Help your new teen driver understand the rules of the road with auto from andrew gordon inc insurance norwell maIn Massachusetts in 1999, over 42% of 16 year old drivers had an accident resulting in over $1,000 of reported damage before turning age 17 (this was 47% in 1997, before the Junior Operator’s Law took effect)! 23% of 17 year olds had a reported accident; for 18 year olds, the rate dropped to 18%. Experience matters. So does observance of the Junior Operators Law.

    One of the steps you can take towards safety is to sign this “New Driver-Parent Contract” along with your new driver. The contract outlines responsible driving practices and parent actions. 

    New Driver and  Parent Contract Click to Download the New Driver-Parent Contract

    Safety is always a vital aspect of life for us at A. G. Gordon, Inc., and we encourage you to check out some of our features at our website, or get a web quote. Access more resources for new drivers here

    Teen Driver Kit  

    Tags: safety, new, law, insurance, Autos, junior, operator, contract, collisions, Business, cheap, car, driver, teen

    Junior Operators: What is the Time Restriction Violation?

    Posted by Gordon Atlantic Staff

    Tue, Sep 25, 2012 @ 06:11 PM

    Nighttime. How does it apply to junior operators?Junior operators must obey the rules of the road and drive safely with auto from andrew gordon inc insurance norwell ma Quite simply, it is a time when junior operators should be off the road. In Massachusetts, a time restriction violation is enforced. For junior operators, driving between 12:30 AM to 5:00 AM is illegal, and you can bet that the police do patrol the streets at night.

    Penalties

    If a junior operator happens to be caught breaking the time restriction, his/her license will be suspended for 60 days and have to pay a $100 reinstatement fee. A second violation requires a 180-day suspension, the $100 reinstatement fee, and a Driver Attitudinal Retraining Course. A third offense will result in a license suspension for a full year, the $100 fee, and the Driver Attitudinal Retraining Course with a full exam. For more information on junior operator penalties, click here.

    Why Obey?

    The chance that a junior operator driving during restricted hours will be caught is VERY HIGH. How many people drive around during those restricted hours anyway? A police officer is bound to notice, and will probably follow the car for a while. If said junior operator speeds, or if drives suspiciously slow, the cop will not hesitate to pull the car over.

    Think about it. In retrospect, a 60-day suspension is two months without having a license. The latter penalties increasingly become much worse. Since junior operators are mainly high school students, two months without being able to bring themselves around and about will only contribute to a miserable summer or school year.

    Tips

    The chance of junior operators driving during nights increases during the summer months. Teens will sleep away the morning, and roam during all hours of the night. Be sure your junior operator does not roam the nights by driving a vehicle.

    1. Plan ahead. Junior operators should be aware of their plans in advance so they know the appropriate timing for driving during permitted hours.

    2. Provide extra time. If it takes 15 minutes to drive home from a friend's house, plan to leave 20-25 minutes prior to 12:30 to ensure that the time restriction is met.

    3. Pack. If your teen loses track of time and cannot make it home by the restriction, be sure they have all his/her necessary night gear (PJ's, spare toothbrush, etc.) stowed away in the back or the trunk of the car.

    4. Communicate. This is probably the most important tip. Since the restriction takes effect late at night, talk ahead of schedule about what to do if the time restriction passes. For example, have a pre-set agreement with your teen that if they cannot make it home before the restriction, he/she will have permission to sleep at a friend's house.

    We have a page for new driver resources, and another blog about junior operator restrictions here. If you have any questions about insurance, click the button below or simply contact us.

    Teen Driver Kit Auto Quote

    Tags: new, driving, junior operator, time, tips, driver, teen, restriction, night, restrictions

    Give Me a "Brake:" A Teen Driver Story

    Posted by Gordon Atlantic Staff

    Thu, Apr 05, 2012 @ 05:44 PM

    Drive safely and be prepared in case of a crash with auto from Andrew Gordon Inc Insurance Norwell MAIn the final week of my sophomore year, I achieved my yearlong dream of obtaining a driver's license. I was going to use my father’s old 1999 Chevrolet S-10 pick-up truck. This car had all the amenities a teenager could want: it wouldn’t start in the rain, the seat would only adjust with the help of pliers, and solid chunks of black foam would fly out when the air conditioning was turned on. Although I was just thrilled to have something to drive, there was one serious flaw I did not notice until my 4th day of driving alone.

    After the last day of school, I was following my friend to his house on the other side of town. About half way there we passed the center of Norwell and turned on to ­­­­­­Central Street. Everything was going fine until we started going downhill. I hit the brakes to slow down… nothing happened. Not entirely true; actually, the brake light came on. Excellent timing, huh?

    Despite my fears of crashing or getting pulled over, I made it to my friend’s house. I was able to pump my brakes and slow down some from that. It helped that there were no intersections and the way to his house was all right turns.

    When I was finally able to park on my friend's hill, my Dad came and brought the truck to a repair shop, Bruce’s Auto. I apparently had 2 popped brake lines. Thankfully, I did not crash and my car turned out fine.  A few months later, we did sell the truck. Sometimes I take a break (pun intended) and I stop (pun still intended) to think about the old S-10.

    Anything can happen on the road, especially when you’re least expecting it. Check us out at www.agordon.com for new driver auto insurance resources such as our teen driver kit. It never hurts to be prepared. Learn more about auto insurance here

      Teen Driver Kit  

    Tags: auto, truck, brakes, pick up, lines, Emergency, insurance, car, problems, driver, discounts, teen

    Four Possible New Driver Discounts

    Posted by Sue Bird

    Wed, Nov 16, 2011 @ 05:45 PM

    If you have an in-experienced driver (0-6 years of experience) and are looking for ways to save money on your auto insurance, then here are a few things to consider:

    1. Be aware of the possible discounts your new teen driver may be eligible for with auto from Gordon Insurance Norwell MADriver’s Education – this qualifies your child for a lower rate by applying a different Driver Classification versus a driver without Driver’s Ed.  I am always surprised when I come across a driver that has not taken Drivers Education.  Sadly, in this economy, this is happening a little more often and then the child is not given the proper tools/training for driving safely.
    2. Advanced Driver Training – Usually a 5% reduction with the companies that offer this discount for completing a course with programs such as In Control or Driving School.
    3. Good Student – A 10-15% reduction if your child is maintaining a B average or higher.
    4. Student Away at School – A 5-15% reduction if your child is attending a school over 100 miles from home and does not have access to a car.

    The above discounts, other than Driver’s Education, are not offered by all companies, the discounts vary depending on the company and the discounts are off certain coverage for the vehicle that the child is rated on. Contact us for any questions about our discounts and check out our website for other new driver insurance resources.

    INSURANCE QUESTION? Teen Driver Kit  

    Susan Bird

    Tags: auto, insurance, Automobile, drivers education, insuring teenagers, discounts, advanced driver training, teen

    Steer Your Way to Teen Auto Insurance Discounts

    Posted by Gordon Atlantic Staff

    Sat, Oct 01, 2011 @ 09:41 PM

    Cover your new teen driver with discounts and auto insurance from Andrew Gordon IncInsuring your newly licensed teen or a driver with less than 6 years driving history is an eye (and wallet) opening experience. The facts are simple- insurance premiums are calculated based many variables including risk and claims statistics. Simply put, less experienced drivers are at a much greater risk to have an at fault accident than drivers with a few years behind their seat belt. In fact, 42% of newly licensed drivers have an accident within 12 months of licensing.

    The good news is there are ways to minimize the cost by taking advantage of driver discounts available for less experienced drivers.

    Potential Discounts:

    • Let's start with good grades. If your child earns 3.0 or honor roll status then he or she may be eligible for a discount. Why? Insurers review claims and find higher achieving students have fewer accidents so they factor this into the pricing.
    • Does your child attend school more than 100 miles from your home? Do they leave all cars at home? If so, your student may be eligible for a discount because he or she will not have regular access to a vehicle. The beauty of this discount is that your child may drive when they return home on breaks or vacation.
    • Has your child taken an advanced driver training course such as InControl driver training? This certificate can also earn a discount with many insurance carriers.
    • Consider raising your collision deductible to $1000. This minimizes premium particularly when younger drivers are insured on the policy. A word to the wise- you may want to add to your household emergency fund in the event there is a claim. 
    • If you insure an older model vehicle for your child, you may want to drop collision coverage. Since you receive actual cash value for total losses, typically, the premium outlay with a teen driver does not justify continuing the collision coverage on an older vehicle.
    • If you are looking at reducing coverage, steer clear of minimizing part 5- optional bodily injury liability coverage. This is the coverage that protects you and your child if you are sued due to an at fault accident. Even if your child has no appreciable assets now,  future wages can be garnished in a successful lawsuit.

    Other ways to save premium on your policies with or without teen drivers include:

    • Packaging your policies with the same independent insurance agent, including www.agordon.com
    • Insuring home and auto with the same company
    • AAA or roadside assistance membership discounts
    • Low mileage- this can vary by company so be sure to tell your agent your average miles per year
    • Vehicle recovery systems
    • Payment plan discounts- some companies offer discounts if you pay in full.
    • E-Documents- if you elect to receive your policy billing and policy by email- there are discounts offered.
    Keep us posted if you have a freshly issued MA operator's license in your household. Our agency, www.agordon.com can offer solutions to keep the premiums low with comprehensive coverages.
     
    Learn more about new driver resources here.
     
      Teen Driver Kit
     
     

    Tags: auto, insurance, Automobile, discounts, teen, teenagers

    Insure a Teenager: How to Add Your Teen to Your Insurance

    Posted by Val Feeney

    Fri, Sep 30, 2011 @ 05:01 PM

    Cover your automobile and new teenage driver with auto from Gordon InsuranceThe day you have dreaded, as a parent, has finally arrived; your teenager has passed their driver’s license exam and is now able to drive a car legally in your state.  Now what?  Well, the teen driver has to be insured.

    The Problem with Teen Insurance

    Adding your teen driver to your auto policy can be expensive.  The reason is because statistics show that 42% of first year drivers have an accident in their first year of driving. 

    Steps to Add Your Teen

    You should contact your insurance agent (that's us!) and ask them to quote your teenager with your current auto policy. They will take the teen’s name, date of birth, address, AAA membership number (if applicable) and quote them with the vehicles that you own. The teen will automatically be rated as an inexperienced driver (Step 0 in Massachusetts) under the more expensive vehicle on your policy. If you have purchased a vehicle for the teenager, he/she can be listed as the principal driver on that vehicle and then be listed as an occasional driver on the other vehicles, keeping the premium to a minimum. 

    Discounts

    The teen may be available for discounts if he or she:

    • Took a driver’s education course

    • Participated in an advanced driver training class

    • Is a good student and maintains a B+ average or better

    Talk to Your Teen

    It is wise to sit your new teen driver down before they receive the keys to go over driver safety and the junior operator laws they must follow.  We also advise you to go over the New Driver Parent Contract we have created here at Gordon Insurance.

    If you have any questions, contact us here at Gordon Insurance and we will be glad to speak with you regarding your new teen driver.

    Learn more about your auto insurance options here. For more information for parents and new drivers, click here.  

      Teen Driver Kit  

    Val Feeney

    Tags: auto, first year driver, account, teenager, insurance, driving, discounts, teen

    Latest Posts

    Most Popular Posts

    Have a Question?